Of editing and…more editing

Standard

Usually I just love to write–to be in my fantasy world and hang out with my characters. But lately, I’ve simply felt overwhelmed with how much editing I have to do. How much cutting, how much changing, how much adding…it’s a hugely daunting task.

A couple months ago, I sent my novel off to several beta-readers, and I’ve had some fairly harsh feedback, most of which I agree with now that I think on it. My problem is that now I feel as though I have to start from scratch.

Well, not scratch exactly…but close to it.

I have to change a few main characters’ personalities, I have to change a few main characters’ roles, I have to shift some characters around in regard to where they participate in the story and somehow still get back to where I need them to be. It’s complicated. I can do it. But it’s going to take a lot of work.

I’ve been working on this book off and on (with two other books interspersed) since March 2008. There’s no way I’ll be giving up, so you needn’t worry about that. It’s been too long coming to give up now. I’m not one to give up so easily.

It just may be a bit longer than what I thought it would be to get Treasured to a publishable standard. It’ll come. But it’ll be a while.

Leave a Reply

